Parliament Website

Call Time On Homophobia Campaign

EDM number 166 in 2010-12, proposed by David Cairns on 07/06/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Sex discrimination.

That this House notes that the LBGTLabour event on 5 June 2010 ended prematurely due to homophobia from first a customer and then the management of the Greencoat Boy pub, Westminster; expresses concern that the LBGT group was told its booking would not have been taken if the management had known it was a gay organisation; is appalled that all members of the group were denied service at the venue following a complaint from someone who had made homophobic comments; reaffirms the provisions of the Equality Act (Sexual Orientation) Regulation 2007 and especially the provision that no person be subject to discrimination in the delivery of goods, facilities and services on the basis of sexual orientation; congratulates the Metropolitan Police for dealing with the matter with the appropriate importance; supports the request from LGBTLabour for an apology from the Greencoat Boy Manager and Punch Taverns Chief Executive, an apology to the other staff working in the venue for being asked not to serve LGBT people, company training for managers of pubs on equality issues, a rainbow flag displayed for London Pride, a prominent Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans-gender People Welcome Here sign and a complimentary event at a Punch Taverns venue of the group's choice; welcomes the statement by Punch Taverns, its unreserved apology, and the news that an investigation into the incident is taking place and a meeting with LGBTLabour has taken place; reaffirms that homophobia has no place in modern Britain; and thanks the thousands of people who have sent supporting messages to the LGBT group.

This motion has been signed by a total of 68 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

David Cairns07/06/2010InverclydeLabourProposed
Stephen Twigg07/06/2010Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSeconded
Russell Brown07/06/2010Dumfries and GallowayLabourSeconded
Robert Flello07/06/2010Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSeconded
Chris Bryant07/06/2010RhonddaLabourSeconded
Gordon Marsden07/06/2010Blackpool SouthLabourSeconded
Rachel Reeves07/06/2010Leeds WestLabourSigned
Julie Elliott07/06/2010Sunderland CentralLabourSigned
Jack Dromey07/06/2010Birmingham, ErdingtonLabourSigned
Gemma Doyle07/06/2010West DunbartonshireLabourSigned
Emma Reynolds07/06/2010Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned
Kate Green07/06/2010Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Emily Thornberry07/06/2010Islington South and FinsburyLabourSigned
Mike Wood07/06/2010Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Adrian Bailey07/06/2010West Bromwich WestLabourSigned
Angela Eagle07/06/2010WallaseyLabourSigned
Frank Doran07/06/2010Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
John Cryer07/06/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Cathy Jamieson07/06/2010Kilmarnock and LoudounLabourSigned
Ann Clwyd07/06/2010Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Ann McKechin07/06/2010Glasgow NorthLabourSigned
Anne McGuire07/06/2010StirlingLabourSigned
John McDonnell07/06/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Maria Eagle07/06/2010Garston and HalewoodLabourSigned
Martin Caton08/06/2010GowerLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd08/06/2010EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Blenkinsop08/06/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
John Leech08/06/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Gwynne08/06/2010Denton and ReddishLabourSigned
Mark Durkan08/06/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Dowd08/06/2010Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Vernon Coaker08/06/2010GedlingLabourSigned
Alan Meale08/06/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Ivan Lewis08/06/2010Bury SouthLabourSigned
David Heyes09/06/2010Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin09/06/2010ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Iain Stewart09/06/2010Milton Keynes SouthConservativeSigned
Stella Creasy09/06/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Mike Hancock09/06/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Davidson09/06/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson09/06/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Luciana Berger09/06/2010Liverpool, WavertreeLabourSigned
Mike Gapes10/06/2010Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Tom Watson10/06/2010West Bromwich EastLabourSigned
Sharon Hodgson10/06/2010Washington and Sunderland WestLabourSigned
Stephen Williams10/06/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Julie Hilling10/06/2010Bolton WestLabourSigned
Chi Onwurah10/06/2010Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz10/06/2010Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins14/06/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Heidi Alexander15/06/2010Lewisham EastLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham15/06/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Hazel Blears15/06/2010Salford and EcclesLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd15/06/2010Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner15/06/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
Graham Stringer16/06/2010Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Eric Illsley17/06/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Derek Twigg17/06/2010HaltonLabourSigned
Kerry McCarthy17/06/2010Bristol EastLabourSigned
Hywel Francis21/06/2010AberavonLabourSigned
Albert Owen22/06/2010Ynys MLabourSigned
Richard Burden22/06/2010Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Nia Griffith24/06/2010LlanelliLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram01/07/2010Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Teresa Pearce07/07/2010Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma08/07/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Tom Brake06/09/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Connarty20/10/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.