Parliament Website

Heart And Circulatory Diseases

EDM number 21 in 2010-12, proposed by Alan Meale on 25/05/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Health education and preventive medicine.

That this House notes the progress made by the National Health Service in recent times; and believes that the Secretary of State for Health must early in his new role set out priorities for the years ahead, including a renewed approach towards tackling heart and circulatory diseases, implementing the recommendations of the Food Standards Authority on the labelling of food products without delay, supporting the protection of future generations by further legislation on tobacco sales and advertising, identifying and appointing a senior minister responsible specifically for heart disease and ensuring that healthcare expenditure is protected from any planned economic cutbacks in the forthcoming spending review as promised in the recent general election campaign.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Alan Meale25/05/2010MansfieldLabourProposed
David Simpson26/05/2010Upper BannDUPSeconded
Mike Hancock26/05/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Keith Vaz27/05/2010Leicester EastLabourSeconded
David Heyes02/06/2010Ashton-under-LyneLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins02/06/2010Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Alan Campbell02/06/2010TynemouthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn02/06/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ian Lavery02/06/2010WansbeckLabourSigned
Ian Mearns03/06/2010GatesheadLabourSigned
Paul Flynn07/06/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim Shannon08/06/2010StrangfordDUPSigned
William McCrea08/06/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
David Crausby08/06/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Hywel Francis08/06/2010AberavonLabourSigned
Martin Caton09/06/2010GowerLabourSigned
Frank Doran09/06/2010Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Mike Gapes10/06/2010Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Tom Watson10/06/2010West Bromwich EastLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin14/06/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Eric Illsley17/06/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Albert Owen22/06/2010Ynys MLabourSigned
David Hamilton23/06/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
John McDonnell30/06/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Robert Flello07/07/2010Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
David Wright08/07/2010TelfordLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma08/07/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Lady Hermon12/07/2010North DownIndependentSigned
Jim Dowd27/07/2010Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Linda Riordan27/07/2010HalifaxLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.