Parliament Website

Local Authority Action On Fuel Poverty And The Home Energy Conservation Act

EDM number 2811 in 2010-12, proposed by Lorely Burt on 01/03/2012.

That this House welcomes the statements by the Minister for Energy and Climate Change, the hon. Member for Bexhill and Battle, that he intends to revitalise the Home Energy Conservation Act 1995 (HECA)by issuing guidance to local authorities pursuant to that Act to reinvigorate their efforts to tackle fuel poverty and energy efficiency; further welcomes his statement at the Micropower Conference last year that this guidance will cover ways in which to involve the whole community in activities to tackle climate change; and therefore supports the HECA Charter published by the End Fuel Poverty Coalition of 34 organisations which calls on the Minister to include in the guidance exhortations to local authorities to set targets for reducing fuel poverty and for improving energy efficiency, to produce Green Deal and eco delivery plans and set up referral networks to enable vulnerable and low income households to access these schemes, as well as suggestions as to how town and parish councils should be involved in assisting with the achievement of these objectives.

This motion has been signed by a total of 58 MPs.

Lorely Burt01/03/2012SolihullLiberal DemocratProposed
Alan Beith01/03/2012Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Amess01/03/2012Southend WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Dowd01/03/2012Lewisham West and PengeLabourSeconded
Tom Brake01/03/2012Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Joan Ruddock01/03/2012Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSeconded
Julian Huppert01/03/2012CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming01/03/2012Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams01/03/2012ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Peter Bottomley01/03/2012Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock01/03/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn01/03/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton01/03/2012GowerLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins01/03/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
John Leech05/03/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan05/03/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alan Meale05/03/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
Bob Russell06/03/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Shannon06/03/2012StrangfordDUPSigned
John McDonnell06/03/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin06/03/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn06/03/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Stephen Williams06/03/2012Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Crockart06/03/2012Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George07/03/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Doran07/03/2012Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
William McCrea07/03/2012South AntrimDUPSigned
John Pugh08/03/2012SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
David Anderson09/03/2012BlaydonLabourSigned
John Thurso09/03/2012Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff09/03/2012Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Menzies Campbell09/03/2012North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Clive Betts12/03/2012Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson12/03/2012North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Dave Watts13/03/2012St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Love13/03/2012EdmontonLabourSigned
Michael Connarty13/03/2012Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Nick Smith13/03/2012Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
Heidi Alexander13/03/2012Lewisham EastLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy14/03/2012GlenrothesLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders14/03/2012TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Horwood14/03/2012CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Gordon Henderson14/03/2012Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Katy Clark15/03/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Peter Aldous15/03/2012WaveneyConservativeSigned
Joan Walley15/03/2012Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Frank Dobson15/03/2012Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
George Howarth15/03/2012KnowsleyLabourSigned
Lady Hermon20/03/2012North DownIndependentSigned
Virendra Sharma21/03/2012Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne21/03/2012Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas22/03/2012Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Mike Wood23/03/2012Batley and SpenLabourSigned
David Ward27/03/2012Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
John Robertson16/04/2012Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
David Crausby16/04/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Naomi Long17/04/2012Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Charles Kennedy18/04/2012Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.