Parliament Website

UK Wildlife

EDM number 52 in 2010-12, proposed by Bob Russell on 25/05/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Wildlife.

That this House is alarmed at a report from the Joint Nature Conservation Committee which reveals that 88 species of wildlife are in decline, with eight species becoming extinct since 1994; is deeply concerned that the assessment of hundreds of threatened species and habitats listed on the UK Biodiversity Action Plan found that 19 types of landscape are also suffering, including mudflats and salt marshes; agrees with Mr Matt Shardlow, Chief Executive of Buglife, the Invertebrate Conservation Trust, that `British wildlife is in crisis; species that have lived here for thousands of years are declining and disappearing'; notes that many of the species have suffered from the loss of their habitats, intensive farming and pollution; and calls on the Government to carry out election pledges on protecting wildlife in order for the UK to meet the new European Union target of halting the loss of biodiversity and the degradation of ecosystems by 2020.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Bob Russell25/05/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratProposed
Andrew George25/05/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mike Hancock26/05/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jeffrey M Donaldson26/05/2010Lagan ValleyDUPSeconded
Stephen Williams26/05/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley26/05/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Lady Hermon27/05/2010North DownIndependentSigned
Jeremy Corbyn02/06/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
John Leech02/06/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lorely Burt02/06/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Williams02/06/2010Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
James Gray02/06/2010North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Roger Godsiff02/06/2010Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Annette Brooke02/06/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale02/06/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders02/06/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Rosindell02/06/2010RomfordConservativeSigned
Angela Smith03/06/2010Penistone and StocksbridgeLabourSigned
Grahame Morris07/06/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn07/06/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Andrew Miller07/06/2010Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas07/06/2010Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Andrew Stephenson07/06/2010PendleConservativeSigned
William McCrea08/06/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Hywel Francis08/06/2010AberavonLabourSigned
Martin Caton09/06/2010GowerLabourSigned
Alan Beith09/06/2010Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Zac Goldsmith09/06/2010Richmond ParkConservativeSigned
John Hemming10/06/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Gapes10/06/2010Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Albert Owen22/06/2010Ynys MLabourSigned
Julian Huppert28/06/2010CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby29/06/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John McDonnell30/06/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Robert Flello07/07/2010Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
Joan Walley12/07/2010Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Caroline Nokes22/07/2010Romsey and Southampton NorthConservativeSigned
Jim Dowd14/10/2010Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.