Parliament Website

Human Rights In Malawi

EDM number 84 in 2010-12, proposed by John Hemming on 26/05/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Africa and Equality.

That this House notes the same-sex engagement ceremony in late December 2009 of Steven Monjeza and Tiwonge Chimbalanga, their subsequent prosecution on charges of homosexuality and the 14 year jail sentence imposed upon them; calls on the President of Malawi to ensure that they are released from jail and that all charges against them are dropped; and further calls on the Government of Malawi to decriminalise homosexuality in accordance with the equality and anti-discrimination provisions of Article 20 of the Malawian constitution and Articles 2, 3 and 4 of the African Charter on Human and People's Rights, and to ensure equal treatment and human rights for all Malawian citizens, regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

John Hemming26/05/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratProposed
Peter Bottomley26/05/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew George26/05/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Julian Huppert26/05/2010CambridgeLiberal DemocratSeconded
Pat Glass27/05/2010North West DurhamLabourSeconded
Ian Davidson27/05/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins27/05/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Angela Eagle27/05/2010WallaseyLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards27/05/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Glenda Jackson02/06/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn02/06/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock02/06/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark02/06/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
John Leech02/06/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson03/06/2010East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Crockart07/06/2010Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams07/06/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams07/06/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Lorely Burt07/06/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Caroline Lucas07/06/2010Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
John Pugh07/06/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn07/06/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Fiona O'Donnell08/06/2010East LothianLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice08/06/2010LivingstonLabourSigned
Martin Caton09/06/2010GowerLabourSigned
Mike Gapes10/06/2010Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Julie Hilling10/06/2010Bolton WestLabourSigned
Martin Horwood14/06/2010CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Albert Owen22/06/2010Ynys MLabourSigned
Simon Hughes23/06/2010Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell30/06/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Robert Flello07/07/2010Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
Sheila Gilmore07/07/2010Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma08/07/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Lady Hermon12/07/2010North DownIndependentSigned
David Cairns13/07/2010InverclydeLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.