Parliament Website

Deportation Of Tamils To Sri Lanka

EDM number 136 in 2012-13, proposed by Virendra Kumar Sharma on 23/05/2012.
Categorised under the topics of Asia and International politics and government.

That this House expresses its concern that Mr Easwarathasan Kietheeswaran, a Tamil, was deported to Sri Lanka and has now been found killed in April 2012, confirming the concerns reported by Amnesty International and Human Rights Watch of the significant risk to Tamils returned to Sri Lanka; notes with anxiety that removal directions have been set for the forced return of a group of Tamil asylum seekers on charter flight PVT030 on 31 May 2012; and urges the Government to take urgent action to review its policy of the removal of Tamils to Sri Lanka in the present climate so that further deaths and human rights abuses can be prevented and to halt the removals planned for 31 May 2012.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Virendra Sharma23/05/2012Ealing, SouthallLabourProposed
John McDonnell23/05/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Andrew George23/05/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley23/05/2012Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Alan Meale24/05/2012MansfieldLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan24/05/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Kelvin Hopkins24/05/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
Julian Huppert11/06/2012CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Jonathan Edwards11/06/2012Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Paul Blomfield11/06/2012Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Robert Halfon11/06/2012HarlowConservativeSigned
Ann Clwyd11/06/2012Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
John Mann11/06/2012BassetlawLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner11/06/2012BolsoverLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie11/06/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Joan Ruddock12/06/2012Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Jim Shannon12/06/2012StrangfordDUPSigned
Martin Caton12/06/2012GowerLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn12/06/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell13/06/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Ian Mearns13/06/2012GatesheadLabourSigned
Grahame Morris13/06/2012EasingtonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon14/06/2012North DownIndependentSigned
Alasdair McDonnell14/06/2012Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Anderson18/06/2012BlaydonLabourSigned
George Galloway25/06/2012Bradford WestRespectSigned
Jim Cunningham26/06/2012Coventry SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.