Parliament Website

Call Charges

EDM number 269 in 2012-13, proposed by Mary Glindon on 26/06/2012.
Categorised under the topics of Consumers and Financial services.

That this House applauds the respected consumer organisation, Which?, for highlighting the way in which banks, utility and insurance companies provide freephone numbers for potential customers but expect existing customers to use higher rate telephone numbers; notes that its investigation finds that the vast majority of energy providers, banks and insurers surveyed offer 0800 numbers for new customers but that only a small minority offer such numbers to existing customers; further notes that charges are usually much higher when such numbers are accessed from mobile telephones, which are overtaking landlines in usage; believes that this practice is particularly galling when customers have to contact their suppliers to complain about services that have gone wrong, often through no fault of their own; and endorses the view of the Which? Campaign that, providers should be fairer to existing customers and more transparent in their call charges.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Mary Glindon26/06/2012North TynesideLabourProposed
Andrew George26/06/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Ian Mearns26/06/2012GatesheadLabourSeconded
Alex Cunningham26/06/2012Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Pat Glass26/06/2012North West DurhamLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan27/06/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Dennis Skinner27/06/2012BolsoverLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell27/06/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton27/06/2012GowerLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley28/06/2012York CentralLabourSigned
David Simpson02/07/2012Upper BannDUPSigned
Lady Hermon02/07/2012North DownIndependentSigned
Caroline Lucas02/07/2012Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Albert Owen02/07/2012Ynys MLabourSigned
Michael Crockart02/07/2012Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Steve Rotheram03/07/2012Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
John Leech03/07/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff03/07/2012Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne03/07/2012Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
William McCrea03/07/2012South AntrimDUPSigned
Jim Shannon03/07/2012StrangfordDUPSigned
Jim Cunningham03/07/2012Coventry SouthLabourSigned
John McDonnell04/07/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Andrew Stephenson04/07/2012PendleConservativeSigned
Lindsay Roy05/07/2012GlenrothesLabourSigned
Katy Clark05/07/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Hywel Williams05/07/2012ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
George Howarth05/07/2012KnowsleyLabourSigned
John Pugh05/07/2012SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock09/07/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Ritchie10/07/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Geoffrey Robinson12/07/2012Coventry North WestLabourSigned
Linda Riordan16/07/2012HalifaxLabourSigned
David Crausby17/07/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
George Galloway03/09/2012Bradford WestRespectSigned
Rosie Cooper03/09/2012West LancashireLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell11/09/2012Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Naomi Long21/11/2012Belfast EastAllianceSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.