Parliament Website

Air Passenger Duty

EDM number 244 in 2013-14, proposed by Jim Sheridan on 12/06/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Aviation and Taxation.

That this House believes that the UK?s air passenger duty (APD), the highest air passenger duty in the world, is acting as a deterrent to both inward investment and inbound tourism; is concerned about the impact of APD on UK businesses wishing to export to emerging markets; notes the compelling analysis undertaken by PricewaterhouseCoopers about the economic impacts of APD; further believes changes in APD policy could contribute positively to the UK?s economic growth; and calls on HM Treasury to commission a comprehensive study into the full economic effects of aviation tax in the UK, including its impact on employment.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Jim Sheridan12/06/2013Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourProposed
Jimmy Hood12/06/2013Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins12/06/2013Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Alan Meale12/06/2013MansfieldLabourSeconded
Tom Clarke12/06/2013Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSeconded
Michael Connarty12/06/2013Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSeconded
Mary Glindon13/06/2013North TynesideLabourSigned
Mark Durkan13/06/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Graham Brady13/06/2013Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSigned
Dennis Skinner13/06/2013BolsoverLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie13/06/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
William McCrea17/06/2013South AntrimDUPSigned
Jim Dobbin17/06/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock17/06/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley17/06/2013Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Stewart Jackson17/06/2013PeterboroughConservativeSigned
David Anderson18/06/2013BlaydonLabourSigned
Ian Lavery18/06/2013WansbeckLabourSigned
Anne Begg18/06/2013Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
John Cryer18/06/2013Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Lady Hermon18/06/2013North DownIndependentSigned
David Simpson18/06/2013Upper BannDUPSigned
Jim Shannon18/06/2013StrangfordDUPSigned
George Howarth18/06/2013KnowsleyLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick19/06/2013PrestonLabourSigned
Kate Hoey19/06/2013VauxhallLabourSigned
Naomi Long19/06/2013Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Gregory Campbell19/06/2013East LondonderryDUPSigned
Roger Godsiff19/06/2013Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy19/06/2013GlenrothesLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn20/06/2013JarrowLabourSigned
Jim Dowd20/06/2013Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Philip Davies26/06/2013ShipleyConservativeSigned
Frank Doran27/06/2013Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Mike Wood27/06/2013Batley and SpenLabourSigned
John Robertson01/07/2013Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
George Mudie02/07/2013Leeds EastLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds03/07/2013Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson03/07/2013Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Paul Goggins03/07/2013Wythenshawe and Sale EastLabourSigned
Grahame Morris16/07/2013EasingtonLabourSigned
David Crausby18/07/2013Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper18/07/2013West LancashireLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell11/09/2013Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.