Parliament Website

Execution Of Professor Devinderpal Singh Bhullar

EDM number 292 in 2013-14, proposed by Jim Cunningham on 24/06/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Asia and Human rights.

That this House notes with concern the multiple injustices in the case of Professor Devinderpal Singh Bhullar and his subsequent state of mental health; further notes the recognition of these injustices, and the details of the case, by human rights groups including Amnesty International, Reprieve UK and Human Rights Watch; further notes that Professor Bhullar was sentenced to death in 1995 and that the Indian Supreme Court has declined to commute the sentence; further notes therefore the imminent execution of Professor Devinderpal Singh Bhullar, following 18 years on death row; further notes the vigil against this outside 10 Downing Street, which has now been ongoing for more than 50 days; calls on the Government to condemn the impending execution of Professor Bhullar; further calls on the President of India to show clemency and commute the death sentence of Professor Bhullar; and urges the Foreign Secretary to prioritise this matter in discussions with the Indian government.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

Jim Cunningham24/06/2013Coventry SouthLabourProposed
Bob Russell24/06/2013ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan24/06/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Tom Clarke24/06/2013Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSeconded
Margaret Ritchie25/06/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jim Shannon25/06/2013StrangfordDUPSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins25/06/2013Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn25/06/2013Islington NorthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon26/06/2013North DownIndependentSigned
Naomi Long26/06/2013Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Martin Caton26/06/2013GowerLabourSigned
Graham Stringer26/06/2013Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
John McDonnell27/06/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ian Lavery27/06/2013WansbeckLabourSigned
Mike Gapes27/06/2013Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin27/06/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd27/06/2013Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Frank Dobson01/07/2013Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
Mike Hancock01/07/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea02/07/2013South AntrimDUPSigned
Alan Meale02/07/2013MansfieldLabourSigned
Joan Walley02/07/2013Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner03/07/2013BolsoverLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley03/07/2013Worthing WestConservativeSigned
John Leech04/07/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams04/07/2013Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon04/07/2013North TynesideLabourSigned
John Cryer08/07/2013Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff08/07/2013Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Bob Ainsworth08/07/2013Coventry North EastLabourSigned
Gerry Sutcliffe08/07/2013Bradford SouthLabourSigned
John Hemming08/07/2013Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Grahame Morris09/07/2013EasingtonLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock11/07/2013Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Mike Wood12/07/2013Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Katy Clark15/07/2013North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Chris Williamson16/07/2013Derby NorthLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz16/07/2013Walsall SouthLabourSigned
David Ward17/07/2013Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby18/07/2013Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Richard Burden04/09/2013Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland10/09/2013Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Connarty11/09/2013Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Michael Meacher08/10/2013Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Nick Harvey10/10/2013North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.