Parliament Website

Protection Of Workers Serving The Public

EDM number 529 in 2013-14, proposed by Ann Coffey on 08/10/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Administration of justice, Crimes of violence and Employment.

That this House is appalled at levels of violence suffered by workers who deal with the public, as evidenced in the 2013 survey from the Union of Shop, Distributive and Allied Workers, which showed that four per cent of shopworkers had been physically attacked in the previous 12 months and 35 per cent had been threatened with violence, and at the traumatising effects of these incidents for staff who have to face the continual possibility of attack or abuse throughout their working day as they are on the frontline of dealing with the public; is concerned at the paltry level of sentences meted out to offenders, often with a suspended sentence or with no custodial element; and calls on the Government to introduce a specific offence of assaulting a worker who is serving the public in order to ensure that victims of such violence are given the justice they deserve and to provide a deterrent.

This motion has been signed by a total of 63 MPs.

Ann Coffey08/10/2013StockportLabourProposed
Jeremy Corbyn08/10/2013Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Bob Russell08/10/2013ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Shannon08/10/2013StrangfordDUPSeconded
Elfyn Llwyd08/10/2013Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Ronnie Campbell08/10/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Martin Caton08/10/2013GowerLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley09/10/2013York CentralLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner10/10/2013BolsoverLabourSigned
David Anderson14/10/2013BlaydonLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice14/10/2013LivingstonLabourSigned
John McDonnell14/10/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne14/10/2013Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
George Howarth14/10/2013KnowsleyLabourSigned
Mark Durkan14/10/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Dobbin14/10/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham14/10/2013Coventry SouthLabourSigned
David Davies15/10/2013MonmouthConservativeSigned
Joan Ruddock15/10/2013Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Alan Meale15/10/2013MansfieldLabourSigned
Hywel Williams15/10/2013ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Paul Murphy15/10/2013TorfaenLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie15/10/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Simpson15/10/2013Upper BannDUPSigned
Andrew George16/10/2013St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Sarah Champion16/10/2013RotherhamLabourSigned
William McCrea16/10/2013South AntrimDUPSigned
Roger Godsiff16/10/2013Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
David Ward16/10/2013Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Flello17/10/2013Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
Adrian Bailey17/10/2013West Bromwich WestLabourSigned
Gerry Sutcliffe17/10/2013Bradford SouthLabourSigned
Geraint Davies17/10/2013Swansea WestLabourSigned
Michael Meacher17/10/2013Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz17/10/2013Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy17/10/2013GlenrothesLabourSigned
Gerald Kaufman17/10/2013Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Mark Tami17/10/2013Alyn and DeesideLabourSigned
Frank Field17/10/2013BirkenheadLabourSigned
Bill Esterson17/10/2013Sefton CentralLabourSigned
John Cryer17/10/2013Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly17/10/2013Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
David Crausby17/10/2013Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Paul Flynn17/10/2013Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim Dowd17/10/2013Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Frank Doran18/10/2013Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Anne Begg22/10/2013Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock22/10/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Connarty23/10/2013Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell24/10/2013Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Lavery28/10/2013WansbeckLabourSigned
Graham Allen29/10/2013Nottingham NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds29/10/2013Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Fiona O'Donnell30/10/2013East LothianLabourSigned
Tom Clarke30/10/2013Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Joan Walley30/10/2013Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Miller06/11/2013Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Katy Clark11/11/2013North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz18/11/2013Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Fabian Hamilton27/11/2013Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Tessa Jowell16/12/2013Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Siobhain McDonagh15/01/2014Mitcham and MordenLabourSigned
Peter Hain03/03/2014NeathLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.