Parliament Website

Royal Botanic Gardens Kew

EDM number 117 in 2014-15, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 17/06/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Environmental protection, Non-departmental public bodies, Pay, Public expenditure and Research and innovation.

That this House is concerned that the successive cuts to the Grant In Aid for the Royal Botanic Gardens Kew since 2010 puts over 120 jobs at risk and threatens a loss of scientific expertise not readily available on the international labour market; notes the threat to the capacity and ability of Royal Botanic Gardens Kew to perform its statutory functions and world-leading scientific and conservation research; is further concerned that these cuts will put Kew's UNESCO World Heritage Site status at risk and that pressure to raise revenue means that a number of staff at Kew Enterprises are currently paid below the living wage or are on zero hours contracts; and calls on the Government to consider the results of several independent reviews calling for maintained or increased public funding of Kew by funding the expected shortfall this year of £5 million and ensuring that there is a full public review of how Kew is funded in future before any final decisions are made.

This motion has been signed by a total of 65 MPs.

Caroline Lucas17/06/2014Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
John McDonnell17/06/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin18/06/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Andrew George18/06/2014St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Hywel Williams18/06/2014ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Keith Vaz18/06/2014Leicester EastLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins19/06/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Bob Russell19/06/2014ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Glenda Jackson19/06/2014Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Martin Caton19/06/2014GowerLabourSigned
Mary Glindon19/06/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Ian Lavery19/06/2014WansbeckLabourSigned
Tony Baldry19/06/2014BanburyConservativeSigned
David Crausby23/06/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff23/06/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd24/06/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Virendra Sharma25/06/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Grahame Morris25/06/2014EasingtonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon25/06/2014North DownIndependentSigned
David Heyes25/06/2014Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Zac Goldsmith26/06/2014Richmond ParkConservativeSigned
Peter Bottomley30/06/2014Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Paul Flynn01/07/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Mike Thornton01/07/2014EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Doran01/07/2014Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock01/07/2014Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Diane Abbott01/07/2014Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Annette Brooke02/07/2014Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Gerald Kaufman02/07/2014Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie02/07/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Tim Farron03/07/2014Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams03/07/2014CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
David Blunkett07/07/2014Sheffield, Brightside and HillsboroughLabourSigned
Robert Flello07/07/2014Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham07/07/2014Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Michael Crockart08/07/2014Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Esterson08/07/2014Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick08/07/2014PrestonLabourSigned
Jim Dowd09/07/2014Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Roger Williams09/07/2014Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Gapes10/07/2014Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell14/07/2014Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Tom Harris15/07/2014Glasgow SouthLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper17/07/2014West LancashireLabourSigned
Fiona Bruce17/07/2014CongletonConservativeSigned
Hugh Bayley17/07/2014York CentralLabourSigned
Julian Huppert21/07/2014CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea21/07/2014South AntrimDUPSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson21/07/2014Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Eric Joyce01/09/2014FalkirkLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz01/09/2014Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield03/09/2014Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Anne Begg08/09/2014Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Gilbert10/09/2014St Austell and NewquayLiberal DemocratSigned
John Thurso17/10/2014Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Jonathan Edwards21/10/2014Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Frank Dobson22/10/2014Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
Katy Clark27/10/2014North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd27/10/2014EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Naomi Long29/10/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Adrian Sanders29/10/2014TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Ottaway11/11/2014Croydon SouthConservativeSigned
Greg Mulholland18/12/2014Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Kate Hoey08/01/2015VauxhallLabourSigned
David Ward28/01/2015Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.