Parliament Website

Trading Standards

EDM number 199 in 2014-15, proposed by Stephen Lloyd on 01/07/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Companies, Consumers, Employment, Local government, Regulation and Standards.

That this House welcomes the publication of the Trading Standards Workforce Survey which shows that the number of trading standards staff in local authorities has been halved since 2009; values the work that trading standards officers do in their local communities to protect vulnerable elderly residents from rogue traders and scams, prevent young people from accessing age restricted products like tobacco, alcohol and knives and ensure consumers receive accurate information on what they are buying, protecting them from food fraud and unsafe goods; applauds trading standards professionals for maintaining a high level of service despite shrinking resources; further welcomes the Government's commitment to consumer protection as represented by the Consumer Rights Bill; and encourages the Government to continue working with trading standards and local authorities to find long-term solutions to the problem of constrained resources for local authority trading standards services.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Stephen Lloyd01/07/2014EastbourneLiberal DemocratProposed
Bob Russell01/07/2014ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley01/07/2014Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon02/07/2014StrangfordDUPSeconded
Adrian Sanders02/07/2014TorbayLiberal DemocratSeconded
Linda Riordan02/07/2014HalifaxLabourSeconded
Andrew George02/07/2014St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech02/07/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Blackman02/07/2014Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Ronnie Campbell02/07/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Ward03/07/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon03/07/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Mark Williams07/07/2014CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Caroline Lucas07/07/2014Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Alan Meale07/07/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn07/07/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd08/07/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
David Crausby08/07/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Lady Hermon08/07/2014North DownIndependentSigned
Mike Hancock08/07/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Simpson09/07/2014Upper BannDUPSigned
Nigel Dodds09/07/2014Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Roger Godsiff09/07/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Mike Gapes16/07/2014Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Naomi Long17/07/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Dennis Skinner17/07/2014BolsoverLabourSigned
Stephen Gilbert21/07/2014St Austell and NewquayLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Cooper21/07/2014West LancashireLabourSigned
Natascha Engel21/07/2014North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan01/09/2014Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Gary Streeter01/09/2014South West DevonConservativeSigned
Paul Flynn02/09/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Annette Brooke04/09/2014Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell05/09/2014Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Thornton13/10/2014EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cunningham13/10/2014Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Jeremy Lefroy17/11/2014StaffordConservativeSigned
Geoffrey Robinson04/12/2014Coventry North WestLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.