Parliament Website

Public Flogging Of Raif Badawi In Saudi Arabia

EDM number 720 in 2014-15, proposed by Ann Clwyd on 21/01/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights and Middle East.

That this House condemns the sentence of public flogging, a fine and a 10 year prison sentence imposed on Raif Badawi in Saudi Arabia for freely expressing his views on the internet; is dismayed that he was given 50 lashes on 9 January 2015 in Jeddah; understands that despite postponement on medical grounds, Saudi authorities intend to carry out further flogging each week until he has received 1,000 lashes; strongly supports his right to freedom of expression; is appalled by the use of corporal punishment in Saudi Arabia and elsewhere; notes with concern Saudi Arabia's practice of holding prisoners of conscience; calls on the UK Government to take stronger action to ensure that this barbaric punishment is stopped immediately; and further calls on it also to work with its international partners to encourage the Saudi authorities to overturn his conviction and ensure his release.

This motion has been signed by a total of 50 MPs.

Ann Clwyd21/01/2015Cynon ValleyLabourProposed
Sandra Osborne21/01/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn21/01/2015Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Paul Farrelly21/01/2015Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan21/01/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Bob Russell21/01/2015ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley21/01/2015Worthing WestConservativeSigned
John McDonnell21/01/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Liz McInnes22/01/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson22/01/2015Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Julian Lewis22/01/2015New Forest EastConservativeSigned
John Leech22/01/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon22/01/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Paul Flynn22/01/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim Shannon22/01/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Mark Lazarowicz22/01/2015Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley22/01/2015York CentralLabourSigned
Ian Lavery22/01/2015WansbeckLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood26/01/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Robert Smith26/01/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock26/01/2015Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins26/01/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff26/01/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
David Anderson27/01/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner27/01/2015BolsoverLabourSigned
William McCrea28/01/2015South AntrimDUPSigned
Grahame Morris28/01/2015EasingtonLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas28/01/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
David Wright28/01/2015TelfordLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland28/01/2015Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Gapes28/01/2015Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell28/01/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds28/01/2015Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Hywel Williams29/01/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Elfyn Llwyd29/01/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
David Winnick02/02/2015Walsall NorthLabourSigned
Chris Ruane03/02/2015Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Crispin Blunt03/02/2015ReigateConservativeSigned
Mark Williams04/02/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell05/02/2015Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark09/02/2015North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Chris Williamson10/02/2015Derby NorthLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham10/02/2015Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Jim McGovern11/02/2015Dundee WestLabourSigned
George Galloway11/02/2015Bradford WestRespectSigned
Kate Hoey23/02/2015VauxhallLabourSigned
Jim Dowd23/02/2015Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Lady Hermon04/03/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Jim Cunningham04/03/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock19/03/2015Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.