Parliament Website

Police Widows' Pensions

EDM number 828 in 2014-15, proposed by Elfyn Llwyd on 02/03/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Death, Marriage, Pensions, Police and Cohabitation.

That this House recognises that police officers often place themselves in the way of harm to protect their communities, sometimes making the ultimate sacrifice and leaving behind families and loved ones; believes that we have a moral and public duty to ensure all police widows and widowers are financially provided for for their lifetime; is deeply concerned that the Police Pension Regulations 1987 do not allow police widows or widowers the opportunity to marry or cohabit, without losing their right to a police widows' or widowers' pension for life; agrees with the Police Federation of England and Wales that it is morally and ethically wrong to make police widows and widowers and their dependants effectively choose between future financial security and the possibility of future personal happiness; welcomes the fact that the Police Pension Regulations 2006 allow new entrants or serving officers to transfer to a new scheme which permits their survivors to access benefits which are payable for life regardless of whether they remarry; regrets that nevertheless many police widows and widowers still remain disadvantaged by the Police Pensions Regulations 1987, and calls on the Government urgently to review the Police Pensions Regulations 1987 to ensure that the families of those who have served their community and been lost in the line of duty receive financial security regardless of their decision to remarry or cohabit.

This motion has been signed by a total of 50 MPs.

Elfyn Llwyd02/03/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruProposed
John McDonnell02/03/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Gordon Henderson02/03/2015Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSeconded
David Anderson02/03/2015BlaydonLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins02/03/2015Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Kevin Barron03/03/2015Rother ValleyLabourSeconded
Alan Meale03/03/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards03/03/2015Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Ronnie Campbell04/03/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Ian Mearns04/03/2015GatesheadLabourSigned
David Crausby04/03/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn04/03/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton04/03/2015GowerLabourSigned
William McCrea04/03/2015South AntrimDUPSigned
Virendra Sharma04/03/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne04/03/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
George Howarth04/03/2015KnowsleyLabourSigned
Liz McInnes04/03/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy05/03/2015GlenrothesLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi05/03/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
George Galloway06/03/2015Bradford WestRespectSigned
Philip Davies09/03/2015ShipleyConservativeSigned
David Winnick09/03/2015Walsall NorthLabourSigned
Grahame Morris09/03/2015EasingtonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock09/03/2015Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Carmichael09/03/2015StroudConservativeSigned
Jim Cunningham10/03/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff10/03/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Mark Williams11/03/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson11/03/2015Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Ian Paisley Jnr11/03/2015North AntrimDUPSigned
Geraint Davies11/03/2015Swansea WestLabourSigned
Alan Reid11/03/2015Argyll and ButeLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech11/03/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds11/03/2015Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Diane Abbott12/03/2015Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell12/03/2015Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon12/03/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Andrew George12/03/2015St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Jonathan Evans16/03/2015Cardiff NorthConservativeSigned
Graham Stringer16/03/2015Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Dave Watts16/03/2015St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Jim McGovern17/03/2015Dundee WestLabourSigned
Roger Williams17/03/2015Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Cunningham18/03/2015WorkingtonLabourSigned
John Hemming18/03/2015Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Albert Owen18/03/2015Ynys MLabourSigned
Robert Flello19/03/2015Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly24/03/2015Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
David Wright25/03/2015TelfordLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.