Parliament Website

Lowering The Voting Age To 16

EDM number 45 in 2017-18, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 26/06/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Electoral franchise.

That this House notes that 16 year olds can enter into marriage and civil partnerships, pay income tax and national insurance, obtain social security benefits in their own right, become a company director, consent to medical treatment, and join the armed forces, a political party or a trade union; believes that young people should be given the chance to fulfil their potential and play a full part in society, including through political engagement and participation in democratic decision-making; notes that the voting age is 16 in Argentina, Austria, Brazil, Cuba, Ecuador, Guernsey, the Isle of Man, Jersey, and Scotland; further notes that the Wales Act 2017 provides the Welsh Assembly with the power to lower the voting age for its elections; considers that, as part of the first generation to receive citizenship education, the UK's 1.5 million 16 and 17 year olds are as knowledgeable and competent to vote as other young adults; and calls on the Government to give 16 and 17 year olds a say in their long-term future by legislating to reduce the voting age to 16 for all national and local elections and referendums at the earliest possible opportunity.

This motion has been signed by a total of 91 MPs.

Caroline Lucas26/06/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Tulip Siddiq26/06/2017Hampstead and KilburnLabourSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts26/06/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Jo Swinson26/06/2017East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSeconded
Ian Blackford26/06/2017Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySeconded
Edward Miliband26/06/2017Doncaster NorthLabourSeconded
Carol Monaghan27/06/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
27/06/2017Crewe and NantwichLabourSigned
Joanne Platt27/06/2017Signed
27/06/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Albert Owen27/06/2017Ynys MLabourSigned
Norman Lamb27/06/2017North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams27/06/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
David Hanson27/06/2017DelynLabourSigned
Chris Law27/06/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards27/06/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
27/06/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald27/06/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens27/06/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss27/06/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Ian Mearns27/06/2017GatesheadLabourSigned
Stewart McDonald27/06/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Rachael Maskell27/06/2017York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Ronnie Cowan27/06/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day27/06/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham27/06/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner27/06/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Jo Stevens27/06/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins27/06/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
27/06/2017Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
28/06/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Wes Streeting28/06/2017Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley28/06/2017Worthing WestConservativeSigned
28/06/2017Portsmouth SouthLabourSigned
28/06/2017Plymouth, Sutton and DevonportLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Paul Flynn28/06/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
Stephen Timms28/06/2017East HamLabourSigned
Yvonne Fovargue28/06/2017MakerfieldLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd28/06/2017EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Kirsty Blackman28/06/2017Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara29/06/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson29/06/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Frank Field29/06/2017BirkenheadLabourSigned
John McNally29/06/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon29/06/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Clive Lewis29/06/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
29/06/2017Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Mike Gapes29/06/2017Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Douglas Chapman29/06/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Peter Kyle29/06/2017HoveLabourSigned
Stephen Doughty29/06/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Patrick Grady29/06/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
29/06/2017Weaver ValeLabourSigned
David Drew29/06/2017Signed
Angela Crawley29/06/2017Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Kinnock29/06/2017AberavonLabourSigned
Kate Hollern03/07/2017BlackburnLabourSigned
Neil Coyle03/07/2017Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil03/07/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Daniel Zeichner03/07/2017CambridgeLabourSigned
03/07/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Farron03/07/2017Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Catherine West04/07/2017Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer04/07/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
04/07/2017Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Alan Brown04/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray04/07/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry04/07/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant04/07/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George05/07/2017Signed
Angela Eagle05/07/2017WallaseyLabourSigned
Faisal Rashid05/07/2017Signed
Tommy Sheppard05/07/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
05/07/2017Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
George Howarth05/07/2017KnowsleyLabourSigned
Teresa Pearce06/07/2017Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins06/07/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
10/07/2017Rutherglen and Hamilton WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Ronnie Campbell10/07/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
11/07/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Laura Pidcock11/07/2017Signed
Kate Green12/07/2017Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Grahame Morris17/07/2017EasingtonLabourSigned
Stephen Twigg17/07/2017Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Lisa Nandy17/07/2017WiganLabourSigned
John Cryer18/07/2017Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Catherine McKinnell18/07/2017Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Conor McGinn18/07/2017St Helens NorthLabourSigned
David Crausby20/07/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.