Parliament Website

Sentences Handed Down To Relatives Of Human Rights Defender Mr Alwadaei And Situation In Bahrain

EDM number 509 in 2017-19, proposed by Ann Clwyd on 06/11/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Administration of justice, Human rights, Middle East and Prisons.

That this House is very concerned about the three-year prison sentences handed down recently in Bahrain for alleged terrorism offences committed by three family members of the UK-based Bahraini human rights activist, Sayed Ahmed Alwadaei; notes that the trial has been widely criticised, including by UN experts, and seen as an attempt to punish and silence Mr Alwadaei; is also concerned by the purported defamation in statements made by the Bahraini Embassy in the UK in connection with the case; is alarmed by the continuing deterioration in the human rights situation in Bahrain, marked by the approval of a constitutional amendment allowing civilians to be tried before a military court, the on-going trial of prominent human rights defender Nabeel Rajab and further charges, which appear to be politically motivated, brought against imprisoned opposition leader Sheikh Ali Salman; recalls the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights stating at the Human Rights Council session in September 2017 that the democratic space in the country has essentially been shut down and that no public relations campaign can paper over the violations being inflicted on the people of Bahrain; asks the Government of Bahrain to remove illegal restrictions on the activities of civil society and of peaceful opposition and to end politically motivated prosecutions immediately; and calls on the Government to raise these concerns with the Bahraini Government and to demonstrate the value of its assistance to them.

This motion has been signed by a total of 82 MPs.

Ann Clwyd06/11/2017Cynon ValleyLabourProposed
Jim Shannon07/11/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Stuart McDonald07/11/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens07/11/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Caroline Lucas07/11/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Andy Slaughter07/11/2017HammersmithLabourSeconded
Tom Brake07/11/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Linden13/11/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff13/11/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards13/11/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Marie Rimmer13/11/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Helen Hayes14/11/2017Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Frank Field14/11/2017BirkenheadLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil14/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon14/11/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Peter Bottomley15/11/2017Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Stephen Doughty15/11/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Chris Law15/11/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alistair Carmichael20/11/2017Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cunningham20/11/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Alan Brown20/11/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/11/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins21/11/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Matt Western23/11/2017Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard27/11/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black12/12/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Hilary Benn13/12/2017Leeds CentralLabourSigned
Jo Swinson18/12/2017East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
John Grogan19/12/2017Signed
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman08/01/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss10/01/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Wera Hobhouse10/01/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Farron10/01/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward Davey18/01/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Blackford23/01/2018Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady24/01/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alex Cunningham24/01/2018Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Clive Betts25/01/2018Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Jared O'Mara25/01/2018Sheffield, HallamIndependentSigned
Martin Docherty29/01/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Ian Mearns29/01/2018GatesheadLabourSigned
Angela Smith29/01/2018Penistone and StocksbridgeLabourSigned
Mary Creagh30/01/2018WakefieldLabourSigned
Philippa Whitford30/01/2018Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Layla Moran30/01/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Cryer30/01/2018Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Christine Jardine30/01/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Farrelly02/02/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Hywel Williams05/02/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Angela Crawley05/02/2018Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Sandy Martin06/02/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner06/02/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper08/02/2018West LancashireLabourSigned
Thelma Walker20/02/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Martyn Day20/02/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Kinnock01/03/2018AberavonLabourSigned
Chris Williamson07/03/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned
Geoffrey Robinson12/03/2018Coventry North WestLabourSigned
Alex Sobel12/03/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Toby Perkins13/03/2018ChesterfieldLabourSigned
Norman Lamb16/03/2018North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Anna McMorrin21/03/2018Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Ben Lake19/04/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Ronnie Campbell02/05/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins02/05/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Stewart McDonald24/05/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Grahame Morris04/06/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts21/06/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Alex Norris27/06/2018Nottingham NorthLabour/Co-operativeSigned
George Howarth04/07/2018KnowsleyLabourSigned
Alison McGovern06/07/2018Wirral SouthLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman11/07/2018HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma16/07/2018Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick19/07/2018PrestonLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle23/07/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Fiona Bruce23/07/2018CongletonConservativeSigned
Stephen Lloyd04/09/2018EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Ruth George04/09/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Clive Efford15/10/2018ElthamLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas17/10/2018Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Karen Buck14/11/2018Westminster NorthLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.