Parliament Website

Applying Results Of Experiments On Animals To Human Patients

EDM number 66 in 2017-19, proposed by Kelvin Hopkins on 27/06/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Animal experiments and Science.

That this House notes the science-based campaign For Life On Earth which is critical of avoidable experiments on animals; further notes Patients Campaigning For Cures, which opposes animal models on medical grounds; is alarmed that scientific studies reveal that the widespread claimed ability of animals to predict human responses to drugs and disease is demonstrably false; acknowledges that over 90 per cent of drugs which test well in animals harm or otherwise fail humans, and that ignoring this has delayed cures, including penicillin; notes that using animals to model humans also contradicts currently-accepted science, including evolutionary biology and genetics, which supports personalised medical care; further acknowledges the proclamation of the Concordat on Openness on Animal Research to develop communications with the media and the public; and calls for a thorough, properly moderated public scientific debate on the misleading and costly practice of trying to apply results from animal experiments to human patients.

This motion has been signed by a total of 59 MPs.

Kelvin Hopkins27/06/2017Luton NorthLabourProposed
Jim Cunningham28/06/2017Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens28/06/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day28/06/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
David Drew29/06/2017Seconded
Caroline Lucas29/06/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Lisa Cameron03/07/2017East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
David Linden04/07/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts04/07/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Greg Knight05/07/2017East YorkshireConservativeSigned
Frank Field06/07/2017BirkenheadLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson10/07/2017East AntrimDUPSigned
Mike Amesbury19/07/2017Weaver ValeLabourSigned
David Crausby20/07/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael05/09/2017Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson06/09/2017Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Alan Brown09/10/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Rosie Cooper09/10/2017West LancashireLabourSigned
Tim Farron09/10/2017Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Ruth Cadbury09/10/2017Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
John Mann10/10/2017BassetlawLabourSigned
Wera Hobhouse11/10/2017BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Clwyd16/10/2017Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell16/10/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds18/10/2017Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Gordon Marsden20/10/2017Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Douglas Chapman24/10/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Lloyd26/10/2017EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward Davey20/11/2017Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Christine Jardine21/11/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Angela Crawley22/11/2017Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan27/11/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George05/12/2017High PeakLabourSigned
Zac Goldsmith11/12/2017Richmond ParkConservativeSigned
Roger Godsiff12/12/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
David Amess12/12/2017Southend WestConservativeSigned
Jamie Stone13/12/2017Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Ben Lake14/12/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Tommy Sheppard18/12/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon19/12/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Thelma Walker19/12/2017Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Catherine McKinnell20/12/2017Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Clive Lewis20/12/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Chris Evans08/01/2018IslwynLabourSigned
Faisal Rashid15/01/2018Warrington SouthLabourSigned
Marion Fellows22/01/2018Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Jo Swinson07/02/2018East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Pete Wishart20/02/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Paul Farrelly16/04/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Mhairi Black04/06/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Doughty15/06/2018Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards18/06/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Law26/06/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Gordon Henderson27/06/2018Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Dennis Skinner28/06/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman28/06/2018HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Albert Owen10/07/2018Ynys MLabourSigned
Jared O'Mara16/07/2018Sheffield, HallamIndependentSigned
Gavin Robinson11/10/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.