Parliament Website

Draft Treaty On Cluster Munitions

EDM number 1564 in 2007-08, proposed by Mark Durkan on 14/05/2008.
Categorised under the topic of Arms control.

That this House notes that the final negotiations on a new treaty banning the production, transfer, stockpiling and use of cluster munitions are due to take place in Dublin on 19th to 30th May 2008; welcomes the draft treaty text which provides for a categorical prohibition on cluster munitions with no exemptions; further welcomes the draft treaty's extensive provisions on victim assistance and obligations on clearance of unexploded submunitions; is concerned that, having led the way by taking two types of cluster munitions out of service, the Government is now trying to seek exemptions from the proposed ban for the cluster munitions it currently stockpiles; encourages the Government to accept the draft treaty definition of victims; urges the Government to drop its opposition to legal obligations on past users in respect of clearance; calls on the Government to cease its attempts to include a transition period in the treaty which would only delay its effect; is further concerned that the Government's objections on interoperability are aimed at allowing the United States to store such weapons in the UK; and calls on all governments participating in the Dublin negotiations to meet their commitments in the Oslo and Wellington Declarations by producing the most significant disarmament treaty for a decade.

This motion has been signed by a total of 54 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Mark Durkan14/05/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartyProposed
Frank Cook14/05/2008Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Eddie McGrady14/05/2008South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
David Taylor14/05/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
David Anderson14/05/2008BlaydonLabourSeconded
Alasdair McDonnell14/05/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Bob Spink14/05/2008Castle PointUKIPSigned
Nigel Evans14/05/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Andrew George14/05/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley14/05/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Colin Breed15/05/2008South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Soulsby15/05/2008Leicester SouthLabourSigned
Phil Willis15/05/2008Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Weir15/05/2008AngusScottish National PartySigned
David Drew15/05/2008StroudLabourSigned
Lynne Jones15/05/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson15/05/2008Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins16/05/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster16/05/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Betty Williams19/05/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil19/05/2008Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Robert Wareing19/05/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Rudi Vis19/05/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
John Battle19/05/2008Leeds WestLabourSigned
Edward Davey19/05/2008Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer19/05/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Marsha Singh19/05/2008Bradford WestLabourSigned
Alan Simpson19/05/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock19/05/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Winnick20/05/2008Walsall NorthLabourSigned
Jo Swinson20/05/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech20/05/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Gibson20/05/2008Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Janet Dean20/05/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Annette Brooke20/05/2008Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Pope20/05/2008HyndburnLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd21/05/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Hywel Francis21/05/2008AberavonLabourSigned
Dai Davies21/05/2008Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Julie Morgan02/06/2008Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington02/06/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham02/06/2008Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Vincent Cable02/06/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Doug Naysmith02/06/2008Bristol North WestLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins03/06/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Ian McCartney03/06/2008MakerfieldLabourSigned
Angus Robertson04/06/2008MorayScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart04/06/2008Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Stewart Hosie04/06/2008Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond10/06/2008Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Jim Dobbin11/06/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
John Mason08/10/2008Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Ann McKechinUnknownWithdrawn
Jon TrickettUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.