Parliament Website

ITV Granada Political Reporting

EDM number 2164 in 2007-08, proposed by Lindsay Hoyle on 06/10/2008.
Categorised under the topic of Broadcasting.

That this House notes with grave concern the decision by ITV to remove both political programmes based in the North West from its schedule and current affairs dedicated staff based in the North West; notes that this will result in a monthly programme being produced in London; believes that this will have a detrimental impact in terms of the quality of reporting on politics and current affairs which is relevant to the North West, in addition to a breakdown in the link between events in Parliament and the North West of England; further notes that this will break the agreement with Ofcom which states that 52 half hour programmes of current affairs with 20 half hours dedicated to politics should be provided; and calls on the Government to work with Ofcom to ensure that ITV does not break its franchise agreement so that ITV Granada maintains a dedicated current affairs team in the North West reporting on current affairs and politics.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

Lindsay Hoyle06/10/2008ChorleyLabourProposed
David Crausby06/10/2008Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Nigel Evans06/10/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSeconded
Graham Stringer07/10/2008Manchester, BlackleyLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones07/10/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Ann Winterton07/10/2008CongletonConservativeSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins07/10/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer07/10/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Mark Hunter07/10/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins08/10/2008TamworthLabourSigned
David Drew08/10/2008StroudLabourSigned
Mike Hancock08/10/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Anderson08/10/2008Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
David Heyes09/10/2008Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Graham Brady09/10/2008Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSigned
Alan Meale09/10/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Stephen Hesford09/10/2008Wirral WestLabourSigned
Paul Flynn13/10/2008Newport WestLabourSigned
Robert Wareing13/10/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Bob Laxton14/10/2008Derby NorthLabourSigned
Nicholas Winterton14/10/2008MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis15/10/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Paul Rowen15/10/2008RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley16/10/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Ian McCartney16/10/2008MakerfieldLabourSigned
John Leech16/10/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson22/10/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
John Pugh23/10/2008SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
David Borrow28/10/2008South RibbleLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.