Parliament Website

Scientific Procedures On Animals

EDM number 2183 in 2007-08, proposed by Martin Horwood on 07/10/2008.
Categorised under the topic of Animal experiments.

That this House is concerned that for the sixth successive year the number of scientific procedures on animals has steadily increased, reaching over 3.2 million in 2007, the highest level since 1991; notes that the use of animals in scientific procedures continues to outstrip the development of animal alternatives, in spite of the valuable work of the National Centre for the Replacement, Refinement and Reduction of Animals in Research (NC3Rs), and other organisations involved in the development and promotion of animal alternatives, replacing the need for animal testing and offering hope of humane scientific research; further notes that in 2009 it will be 50 years since the 3Rs approach (replacement, refinement and reduction) was first advocated, yet considers that progress towards implementing the 3Rs has been desperately slow; urges the Government to introduce measures to deal with barriers to implementing animal alternatives, halt increases in the numbers of animals used, and encourage more widespread implementation of animal alternatives across all sectors involved in research; further considers that environmental taxes introduced by the Government over the past few years have had a positive impact in modifying behaviour and reducing emissions, while raising revenue for projects that offset environmental problems; and suggests that in the same way a charge could be introduced for every animal involved in experiments that cause animals pain, suffering, distress or lasting harm, the revenue of which to be used to further fund the development and promotion of animal alternatives.

This motion has been signed by a total of 61 MPs.

Martin Horwood07/10/2008CheltenhamLiberal DemocratProposed
Andrew George07/10/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan07/10/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Bob Russell07/10/2008ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Taylor08/10/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
Adrian Sanders08/10/2008TorbayLiberal DemocratSeconded
Paul Holmes08/10/2008ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton08/10/2008GowerLabourSigned
David Drew08/10/2008StroudLabourSigned
Mike Hancock08/10/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams08/10/2008Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey09/10/2008North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Gordon Marsden09/10/2008Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer09/10/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell09/10/2008Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Williams09/10/2008Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Cohen13/10/2008Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Mark Hunter13/10/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing13/10/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Paul Flynn13/10/2008Newport WestLabourSigned
Bill Etherington13/10/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Janet Dean15/10/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Rudi Vis15/10/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
John Leech16/10/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Truswell17/10/2008PudseyLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard20/10/2008WalthamstowLabourSigned
Richard Younger-Ross20/10/2008TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins21/10/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Jo Swinson21/10/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Jabez Foster22/10/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Alan Simpson22/10/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
John Pugh23/10/2008SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian McCartney27/10/2008MakerfieldLabourSigned
Bill Olner28/10/2008NuneatonLabourSigned
Tom Brake28/10/2008Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke28/10/2008Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cousins28/10/2008Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
David Amess28/10/2008Southend WestConservativeSigned
Joan Humble29/10/2008Blackpool North and FleetwoodLabourSigned
Charles Kennedy29/10/2008Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Connarty30/10/2008Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin30/10/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Adam Holloway30/10/2008GraveshamConservativeSigned
Julia Goldsworthy30/10/2008Falmouth and CamborneLiberal DemocratSigned
Vincent Cable03/11/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Jennifer Willott03/11/2008Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff03/11/2008Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Chris Mullin03/11/2008Sunderland SouthLabourSigned
Marsha Singh04/11/2008Bradford WestLabourSigned
Nick Palmer05/11/2008BroxtoweLabourSigned
Gwyn Prosser05/11/2008DoverLabourSigned
Ann Clwyd05/11/2008Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Edward Davey06/11/2008Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Norman Baker06/11/2008LewesLiberal DemocratSigned
Matthew Taylor10/11/2008Truro and St AustellLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Wood10/11/2008Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Paul Keetch13/11/2008HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Widdecombe17/11/2008Maidstone and The WealdConservativeSigned
Jimmy Hood18/11/2008Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Frank Cook25/11/2008Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Dowd25/11/2008Lewisham WestLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.