Parliament Website

Targets For Microgeneration

EDM number 79 in 2007-08, proposed by Gregory Barker on 06/11/2007.
Categorised under the topics of Climate change, Energy, Energy conservation and Renewable energy.

That this House welcomes the passing of the Climate Change and Sustainable Energy Act in 2006; notes the importance of section 4 of the Act which relates to the setting of targets for microgeneration; further notes the importance of such targets in order to achieve reductions in emissions of carbon dioxide, especially in the light of the recent Stern report that emphasised the urgency of this issue; emphasises in addition the views of industry that targets are crucial in securing sufficient investor confidence to train installers, establishing mass market delivery channels and obtaining funding for large scale investment in mass production; further notes that such developments will make microgeneration equipment far cheaper and so ensure that the pay-back period for customers is reduced, thus enabling microgeneration to make the big step from a niche market product to being a mass market product and contribute even more to efforts to reduce climate change at no cost to the public purse; and urges the Secretary of State for the Environment to work in conjunction with the industry in order to set a challenging but achieveable target within the timescale required by the Act.

This motion has been signed by a total of 55 MPs.

Gregory Barker06/11/2007Bexhill and BattleConservativeProposed
Peter Bottomley07/11/2007Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Paul Holmes07/11/2007ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Taylor07/11/2007North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
Andrew George07/11/2007St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Dai Davies08/11/2007Blaenau GwentIndependentSeconded
John Pugh08/11/2007SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Russell08/11/2007ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake08/11/2007Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Clive Efford08/11/2007ElthamLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell08/11/2007Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis08/11/2007Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Jennifer Willott08/11/2007Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Gidley12/11/2007RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams12/11/2007ConwyLabourSigned
David Heath13/11/2007Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock13/11/2007Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Jabez Foster13/11/2007Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Mark Durkan13/11/2007FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Edward Davey13/11/2007Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Derek Conway13/11/2007Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Annette Brooke13/11/2007Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Malcolm Moss14/11/2007North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Martin Caton14/11/2007GowerLabourSigned
Janet Dean14/11/2007BurtonLabourSigned
Ben Wallace14/11/2007Lancaster and WyreConservativeSigned
Stephen Williams15/11/2007Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson15/11/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Jim Cousins19/11/2007Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Ann Cryer19/11/2007KeighleyLabourSigned
John Horam20/11/2007OrpingtonConservativeSigned
Brian Jenkins21/11/2007TamworthLabourSigned
John Leech21/11/2007Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Rowen21/11/2007RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington22/11/2007Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Richard Younger-Ross22/11/2007TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson22/11/2007East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins29/11/2007Luton NorthLabourSigned
Robert Walter29/11/2007North DorsetConservativeSigned
Bob Spink10/12/2007Castle PointConservativeSigned
John McDonnell11/12/2007Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Simon Burns17/12/2007West ChelmsfordConservativeSigned
Andrew Selous07/01/2008South West BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Vincent Cable07/01/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
John Bercow08/01/2008BuckinghamConservativeSigned
Menzies Campbell16/01/2008North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Charles Hendry22/05/2008WealdenConservativeSigned
Michael Gove02/06/2008Surrey HeathConservativeSigned
Philip Dunne03/06/2008LudlowConservativeSigned
James Brokenshire06/10/2008HornchurchConservativeSigned
Tobias Ellwood13/10/2008Bournemouth EastConservativeSigned
Andrew Murrison28/10/2008WestburyConservativeSigned
Christopher Fraser29/10/2008South West NorfolkConservativeSigned
Graham Stuart29/10/2008Beverley and HoldernessConservativeSigned
David Davies10/11/2008MonmouthConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.