Parliament Website

Tackling Malaria

EDM number 28 in 2009-10, proposed by Bob Spink on 18/11/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Diseases.

That this House notes that malaria still afflicts 40 per cent. of the world's population; calls on governments of malaria-endemic countries and international public and private organisations to work together to fight malaria worldwide and to raise awareness of malaria; further notes that, although preventable and curable, malaria continues to infect more than 500 million people each year in more than 90 countries of the world, killing betweenone and three million people, including a child every 30 seconds, and that it is especially lethal to children underfive and pregnant mothers;further notes that although the burden of malaria is heaviest in sub-Saharan Africa, it also afflicts Asia, Latin America, the Middle East and parts of Europe, and is spreading with climate change; congratulates all those engaged in the global campaign against malaria; further notes a number of countries have reduced malaria deaths by 50 per cent. in the last five years as theresources and implementation of preventative measures and treatments have been scaled up;further notes thatmalaria will only be defeated through collaboration and co-ordinated action of all relevant actors on local, national, regional and international levels; and therefore calls on the Government to maintain and enhance its international co-operation, collaboration and co-ordination of action towards the achievement of the UN 2010 and 2015 goals to end suffering and deaths from malaria, the world's most avoidable but devastating scourge.

This motion has been signed by a total of 67 MPs.

Bob Spink18/11/2009Castle PointIndependentProposed
Mike Hancock19/11/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn19/11/2009Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Sandra Gidley19/11/2009RomseyLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley19/11/2009Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Simon Hughes19/11/2009North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Simpson19/11/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
David Heyes23/11/2009Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Paul Holmes23/11/2009ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Hoyle23/11/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
Brian Iddon23/11/2009Bolton South EastLabourSigned
John Austin23/11/2009Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Robert Wareing23/11/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
John McDonnell24/11/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Hywel Williams24/11/2009CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Mark Durkan24/11/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alan Meale24/11/2009MansfieldLabourSigned
Dai Davies25/11/2009Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
William McCrea25/11/2009South AntrimDUPSigned
Mark Hunter25/11/2009CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech25/11/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Phil Willis25/11/2009Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew25/11/2009StroudLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds25/11/2009Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Janet Dean25/11/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer25/11/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Michael Clapham25/11/2009Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
John Pugh25/11/2009SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
John Mason26/11/2009Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Richard Younger-Ross26/11/2009TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Anderson26/11/2009Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Martin Caton26/11/2009GowerLabourSigned
Colin Burgon26/11/2009ElmetLabourSigned
Ian McCartney26/11/2009MakerfieldLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty26/11/2009Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd26/11/2009Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Brian Jenkins26/11/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Albert Owen26/11/2009Ynys MLabourSigned
Paul Keetch30/11/2009HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington30/11/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon01/12/2009North DownUUPSigned
Paul Truswell01/12/2009PudseyLabourSigned
Michael Moore02/12/2009Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkLiberal DemocratSigned
Lorely Burt02/12/2009SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell02/12/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
Malcolm Bruce02/12/2009GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Julia Goldsworthy03/12/2009Falmouth and CamborneLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson03/12/2009East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Rowen03/12/2009RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
David Anderson07/12/2009BlaydonLabourSigned
Eric Illsley07/12/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Danny Alexander07/12/2009Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell07/12/2009Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Norman Baker07/12/2009LewesLiberal DemocratSigned
Marsha Singh07/12/2009Bradford WestLabourSigned
Susan Kramer09/12/2009Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Adam Price10/12/2009Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Andrew Pelling10/12/2009Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Alasdair McDonnell14/12/2009Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Crausby14/12/2009Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Evan Harris16/12/2009Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/01/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Andy Reed07/01/2010LoughboroughLabourSigned
Martin Linton12/01/2010BatterseaLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne13/01/2010Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady18/01/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Kim Howells20/01/2010PontypriddLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.