Parliament Website

Information Prescriptions For People With Diabetes

EDM number 65 in 2009-10, proposed by Adrian Sanders on 18/11/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Health services.

That this House notes with concern that 65 per cent. of the two million people in the UK with diabetes are not taking their medications as prescribed because one in three do not understand what those medications are for, or how to take them; welcomes the work of a coalition of Diabetes UK, the Association of the British Pharmaceutical Society and Ask About Medicines to facilitate understanding of medicines used to treat diabetes; believes that everyone with the condition has a right to expect a personalised information prescription expressed in an appropriate format as part of their care planning process; further believes that such a personalised prescription should help to ensure that access to clear and consistent information that is accurate, up-to-date and trustworthy will enable people with diabetes to understand their condition and treatment options regardless of their age, ethnicity, disability or postcode; further believes that people should be encouraged to seek information on medicines and other treatments by discussing their condition with and asking questions of a range of healthcare professionals and by accessing other forms of support and information tailored for each person in their particular situation; andcalls on the Government to ensure that the NHS at a local level provides diabetes care and support in line with these standards.

This motion has been signed by a total of 57 MPs.

Adrian Sanders18/11/2009TorbayLiberal DemocratProposed
Andrew George19/11/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mike Hancock19/11/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley19/11/2009Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Sandra Gidley19/11/2009RomseyLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn19/11/2009Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Alan Simpson19/11/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Colin Breed19/11/2009South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke19/11/2009Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Keith Vaz19/11/2009Leicester EastLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle23/11/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
Betty Williams23/11/2009ConwyLabourSigned
Robert Wareing23/11/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Paul Holmes23/11/2009ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
David Heyes23/11/2009Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
John McDonnell24/11/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alan Meale24/11/2009MansfieldLabourSigned
Mark Durkan24/11/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Leech25/11/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Dai Davies25/11/2009Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Mark Hunter25/11/2009CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Phil Willis25/11/2009Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Desmond Turner25/11/2009Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
David Drew25/11/2009StroudLabourSigned
Janet Dean25/11/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds25/11/2009Belfast NorthDUPSigned
John Pugh25/11/2009SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
David Simpson25/11/2009Upper BannDUPSigned
Kim Howells25/11/2009PontypriddLabourSigned
William McCrea25/11/2009South AntrimDUPSigned
Ann Cryer25/11/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins26/11/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd26/11/2009Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Albert Owen26/11/2009Ynys MLabourSigned
Colin Burgon26/11/2009ElmetLabourSigned
Martin Caton26/11/2009GowerLabourSigned
Janet Anderson26/11/2009Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Richard Younger-Ross26/11/2009TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming26/11/2009Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Roy26/11/2009GlenrothesLabourSigned
Paul Keetch30/11/2009HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington30/11/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon01/12/2009North DownUUPSigned
Gregory Campbell02/12/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
Marsha Singh07/12/2009Bradford WestLabourSigned
Eric Illsley07/12/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Ian Cawsey08/12/2009Brigg and GooleLabourSigned
Nick Harvey09/12/2009North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Pelling10/12/2009Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Dan Rogerson10/12/2009North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell14/12/2009Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Evan Harris16/12/2009Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/01/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne13/01/2010Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady18/01/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Shona McIsaac20/01/2010CleethorpesLabourSigned
Edward Davey21/01/2010Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.