Parliament Website

VAT On Repairs And Maintenance To Existing Buildings

EDM number 7 in 2009-10, proposed by Bob Russell on 18/11/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Taxation.

That this House supports calls from the Federation of Master Builders for a reduction in the rate of value added tax (VAT) to five per cent. on building repair and improvement work to existing buildings; believes that reducing VAT on repairs and maintenance to existing buildings would benefit millions of UK home owners by getting rid of rogue builders, helping those who cannot afford vital repairs to their homes, bringing empty homes back into use, and protecting the countryside and UK heritage; considers that reducing VAT to five per cent. in this area would also make it easier for home owners to make energy efficient repairs and improvements to their properties, thus helping to make the UK's existing building stock greener and more energy efficient; and notes that, with buildings responsible for 40 per cent. of the UK's total carbon emissions, this measure would go some way in helping the Government to meet its target of a 60 per cent. reduction in UK carbon emissions by 2050.

This motion has been signed by a total of 61 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Bob Russell18/11/2009ColchesterLiberal DemocratProposed
Mike Hancock18/11/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn18/11/2009Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Simon Hughes18/11/2009North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew George18/11/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Adrian Sanders19/11/2009TorbayLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Simpson19/11/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Colin Breed19/11/2009South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke19/11/2009Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley19/11/2009Worthing WestConservativeSigned
David Taylor23/11/2009North West LeicestershireLabourWithdrawn
John Austin23/11/2009Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Stephen Williams23/11/2009Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing23/11/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Brian Iddon23/11/2009Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle23/11/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
Paul Holmes23/11/2009ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Nicholas Soames24/11/2009Mid SussexConservativeSigned
John McDonnell24/11/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan24/11/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Michael Weir24/11/2009AngusScottish National PartySigned
Hywel Williams24/11/2009CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
John Leech25/11/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Dai Davies25/11/2009Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Mark Hunter25/11/2009CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Phil Willis25/11/2009Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew25/11/2009StroudLabourSigned
Janet Dean25/11/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds25/11/2009Belfast NorthDUPSigned
John Pugh25/11/2009SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Kate Hoey25/11/2009VauxhallLabourSigned
William McCrea25/11/2009South AntrimDUPSigned
Ann Cryer25/11/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins26/11/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd26/11/2009Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Albert Owen26/11/2009Ynys MLabourSigned
Martin Caton26/11/2009GowerLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard26/11/2009WalthamstowLabourSigned
Janet Anderson26/11/2009Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Rudi Vis26/11/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Richard Younger-Ross26/11/2009TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming26/11/2009Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Willie Rennie26/11/2009Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
John Mason26/11/2009Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Paul Keetch30/11/2009HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon01/12/2009North DownUUPSigned
Paul Truswell01/12/2009PudseyLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell02/12/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
Mark Fisher02/12/2009Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
Jo Swinson03/12/2009East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley07/12/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Jim Cousins07/12/2009Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell07/12/2009Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey09/12/2009North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Don Foster09/12/2009BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Pelling10/12/2009Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Dan Rogerson10/12/2009North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell14/12/2009Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Charlotte Atkins15/12/2009Staffordshire MoorlandsLabourSigned
Evan Harris16/12/2009Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Eddie McGrady18/01/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.