Parliament Website

VAT On Essential Sun Care Health Products

EDM number 98 in 2009-10, proposed by Mike Hancock on 18/11/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Health education and preventive medicine and Taxation.

That this House recognises the need for a greater focus on preventative health care, and that skin cancer cases in the UK have more than doubled in the last 20 years with 60,000 people diagnosed and 1,700 deaths each year from melanoma; notes that children are particularly at risk with around 80 per cent. of exposure to the sun occurring before the age of 21 and sunburn in childhood being a major factor in an adult's chances of getting skin cancer; calls on the Government to take the financially prudent and caring approach of reclassifying suncare products as essential healthcare items for VAT purposes; and congratulates the Institute of Cancer Research and other bodies which have promoted skin awareness campaigns to remove VAT from suncare products.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Mike Hancock18/11/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratProposed
Sandra Gidley19/11/2009RomseyLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn19/11/2009Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Bob Russell19/11/2009ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
John Austin23/11/2009Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSeconded
David Heyes23/11/2009Ashton-under-LyneLabourSeconded
Paul Holmes23/11/2009ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams23/11/2009ConwyLabourSigned
John McDonnell24/11/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell24/11/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
Mark Durkan24/11/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Battle24/11/2009Leeds WestLabourSigned
Hywel Williams24/11/2009CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
David Drew25/11/2009StroudLabourSigned
Mark Hunter25/11/2009CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech25/11/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean25/11/2009BurtonLabourSigned
William McCrea25/11/2009South AntrimDUPSigned
John Pugh25/11/2009SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds25/11/2009Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Brian Jenkins26/11/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd26/11/2009Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Chris McCafferty26/11/2009Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton26/11/2009GowerLabourSigned
Richard Younger-Ross26/11/2009TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Keetch30/11/2009HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Anne Main30/11/2009St AlbansConservativeSigned
Lady Hermon01/12/2009North DownUUPSigned
Paul Truswell01/12/2009PudseyLabourSigned
Jo Swinson03/12/2009East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey09/12/2009North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Pelling10/12/2009Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Evan Harris16/12/2009Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby06/01/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Andy Reed07/01/2010LoughboroughLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.