Parliament Website

Cancer Research UK Commit To Beat Cancer Campaign

EDM number 303 in 2010-12, proposed by John Baron on 23/06/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Charities and Diseases.

That this House applauds the international reputation of Cancer Research UK in its work to understand, prevent, detect and treat cancer; congratulates the charity for being at the heart of the tremendous progress made on cancer survival rates over the last 30 years; acknowledges that the money Cancer Research UK spends on research each year (£355 million in 2008-09) is funded entirely by the public; recognises that 90 per cent. of the population lives no more than 30 miles from a Cancer Research UK research centre; notes that UK cancer outcomes are not yet as good as those in the best performing European countries; commends the Cancer Research UK Commit To Beat Cancer campaign to make the UK's cancer outcomes among the best in Europe in the next 10 years; further applauds the five core elements of the campaign to prevent more cancers, detect cancer earlier, provide world-class cancer treatments, tackle cancer inequalities and protect the UK's research base; and further acknowledges that the support of the new Coalition Government and both Houses is needed for further progress on cancer.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

John Baron23/06/2010Basildon and BillericayConservativeProposed
Glyn Davies23/06/2010MontgomeryshireConservativeSeconded
John Leech23/06/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Annette Brooke23/06/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Si23/06/2010Swansea EastLabourSeconded
Sharon Hodgson23/06/2010Washington and Sunderland WestLabourSeconded
Andrew George23/06/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Julian Lewis24/06/2010New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Adrian Sanders24/06/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh24/06/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Rosindell28/06/2010RomfordConservativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins28/06/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson28/06/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Alan Meale28/06/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Anas Sarwar29/06/2010Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Andrew Stephenson29/06/2010PendleConservativeSigned
Stephen Williams29/06/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock29/06/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton29/06/2010GowerLabourSigned
John McDonnell29/06/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
William McCrea29/06/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Jim Shannon29/06/2010StrangfordDUPSigned
Paul Flynn29/06/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Eric Illsley30/06/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Margaret Ritchie30/06/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Simpson30/06/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Naomi Long30/06/2010Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Nigel Dodds30/06/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Michael Crockart01/07/2010Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Steve Rotheram01/07/2010Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Hywel Francis05/07/2010AberavonLabourSigned
Duncan Hames06/07/2010ChippenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Gapes07/07/2010Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper07/07/2010West LancashireLabourSigned
Robert Flello07/07/2010Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
David Crausby08/07/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma08/07/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Lady Hermon12/07/2010North DownIndependentSigned
Paul Farrelly15/07/2010Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Robin Walker19/07/2010WorcesterConservativeSigned
Jim McGovern20/07/2010Dundee WestLabourSigned
Luciana Berger22/07/2010Liverpool, WavertreeLabourSigned
Linda Riordan27/07/2010HalifaxLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.