Parliament Website


EDM number 354 in 2010-12, proposed by Eric Joyce on 29/06/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Africa, International politics and government and Military operations.

That this House recognises the 50th anniversary of Congolese independence on 30 June 2010; welcomes the progress made by the Congolese government since the end of the country's civil war in 2003; notes in particular the successful passage of the country's first democratic elections held in 2006; welcomes the cordial relationship that the UK Government enjoys with its Congolese counterparts in Kinshasa; notes the 2009 rapprochement between the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and Rwanda as a positive step towards finding a non-military and regional approach to the conflict in eastern DRC; calls on the Government to maintain and strengthen its engagement in the DRC; urges the Government to give further support to measures that will better protect Congolese civilians from violence, especially considering that conflict in eastern DRC has been ongoing for almost 15 years and is estimated to have cost over 5.4 million Congolese lives; abhors the sexual violence and other consequences of conflict which particularly affect Congo's women and children; further calls on the Government to support efforts to better address these problems; supports the use of non-military and regional solutions to the ongoing conflict; recognises that more accountable government across the region is central to stabilising the area; further calls on the Government to promote these measures; further calls on the UK to take a leading role in preventing natural resources from fuelling the conflict in eastern Congo; and encourages responsible UK companies to engage with the DRC in this respect.

This motion has been signed by a total of 39 MPs.

Eric Joyce29/06/2010FalkirkLabourProposed
Russell Brown29/06/2010Dumfries and GallowayLabourSeconded
Malcolm Bruce29/06/2010GordonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jo Swinson29/06/2010East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Pritchard29/06/2010The WrekinConservativeSeconded
Mark Durkan30/06/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Andrew George30/06/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams30/06/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark30/06/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley30/06/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Hugh Bayley30/06/2010York CentralLabourSigned
Mike Hancock30/06/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton30/06/2010GowerLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell30/06/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Alan Meale30/06/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
John McDonnell30/06/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins30/06/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Roger Williams01/07/2010Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Wayne David01/07/2010CaerphillyLabourSigned
Ann McKechin01/07/2010Glasgow NorthLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz01/07/2010Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Anne McGuire01/07/2010StirlingLabourSigned
John Leech05/07/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris Evans05/07/2010IslwynLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd06/07/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Jeremy Corbyn06/07/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell07/07/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Luciana Berger08/07/2010Liverpool, WavertreeLabourSigned
David Hamilton08/07/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Annette Brooke08/07/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh12/07/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon12/07/2010North DownIndependentSigned
Andrew Love12/07/2010EdmontonLabourSigned
Michael Crockart13/07/2010Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Connarty15/07/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Pamela Nash06/09/2010Airdrie and ShottsLabourSigned
Mark Williams15/09/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
David Ward08/11/2010Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Naomi Long12/01/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.