Parliament Website

Compulsory Microchipping Of Dogs

EDM number 357 in 2010-12, proposed by Andrew Rosindell on 29/06/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Animal welfare and Animals.

That this House recognises that the introduction of a compulsory microchipping scheme for dogs would have a significant and positive welfare impact, including the return of stray and stolen dogs to their owners and the improved traceability of puppy-farmed dogs; congratulates Dogs Trust, Cats Protection, Blue Cross, National Office of Animal Health and the British Veterinary Association on their efforts to raise public awareness of microchipping and their campaigning for a mandatory scheme; acknowledges that microchipping provides a lifetime of security for a one-off payment; agrees that a compulsory microchipping scheme is currently the preferred alternative to a dog licensing scheme which would potentially create unnecessary bureaucracy and expense for local authorities and which will not represent a barrier to dog ownership for vulnerable groups.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Andrew Rosindell29/06/2010RomfordConservativeProposed
Nigel Dodds29/06/2010Belfast NorthDUPSeconded
Jackie Doyle-Price29/06/2010ThurrockConservativeSeconded
David Amess29/06/2010Southend WestConservativeSeconded
David Crausby29/06/2010Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin30/06/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins30/06/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Andrew George30/06/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock30/06/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley30/06/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jonathan Edwards30/06/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Stephen McPartland30/06/2010StevenageConservativeSigned
Lorely Burt01/07/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stephenson01/07/2010PendleConservativeSigned
Ian Paisley Jnr05/07/2010North AntrimDUPSigned
John Leech05/07/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea06/07/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Jeremy Corbyn06/07/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden07/07/2010Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Marsha Singh08/07/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
John Pugh12/07/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Sharon Hodgson13/07/2010Washington and Sunderland WestLabourSigned
John Thurso14/07/2010Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Williams15/07/2010Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Cooper20/07/2010West LancashireLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas22/07/2010Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Gordon Henderson26/07/2010Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Alun Michael06/09/2010Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne09/09/2010Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Kerry McCarthy18/10/2010Bristol EastLabourSigned
Joan Walley19/10/2010Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Alan Reid07/06/2011Argyll and ButeLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.