Parliament Website

Diabetes Research

EDM number 370 in 2010-12, proposed by Keith Vaz on 30/06/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases and Health services.

That this House recognises that type 2 diabetes represents one of the most signficant global challenges to health; notes that in the UK alone 2.6 million people have diabetes and that 95 per cent. of these have type 2 diabetes; congratulates Professor Mark McCarthy of the University of Oxford and his group of international scientists who have identified 12 new genes associated with type 2 diabetes; believes that a better understanding of type 2 diabetes will help to prevent people from developing the condition; and calls on the Government to encourage and support further research in this field.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Keith Vaz30/06/2010Leicester EastLabourProposed
Andrew George30/06/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Adrian Sanders01/07/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mike Hancock01/07/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley01/07/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Alan Meale01/07/2010MansfieldLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins01/07/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Roger Williams01/07/2010Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark01/07/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop01/07/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Andrew Stephenson01/07/2010PendleConservativeSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson05/07/2010Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Chris Evans05/07/2010IslwynLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin05/07/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
David Simpson06/07/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Elfyn Llwyd06/07/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
William McCrea06/07/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Martin Caton06/07/2010GowerLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn06/07/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan06/07/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Andrew Gwynne07/07/2010Denton and ReddishLabourSigned
Grahame Morris07/07/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Anas Sarwar07/07/2010Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram07/07/2010Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell07/07/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Jim Shannon07/07/2010StrangfordDUPSigned
Lindsay Roy07/07/2010GlenrothesLabourSigned
Eric Illsley08/07/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Marsha Singh08/07/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Annette Brooke08/07/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby08/07/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Gordon Banks08/07/2010Ochil and South PerthshireLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma08/07/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Luciana Berger08/07/2010Liverpool, WavertreeLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn12/07/2010JarrowLabourSigned
David Heyes12/07/2010Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Lady Hermon12/07/2010North DownIndependentSigned
John Leech13/07/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Crockart13/07/2010Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Catherine McKinnell13/07/2010Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Alan Campbell15/07/2010TynemouthLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds15/07/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Rosie Cooper20/07/2010West LancashireLabourSigned
Linda Riordan27/07/2010HalifaxLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.