Parliament Website

Obesity And Low Calorie Sweetened Beverages

EDM number 372 in 2010-12, proposed by Kevin Barron on 30/06/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Health education and preventive medicine and Obesity.

That this House notes with concern that currently over 1,000 people in the UK become obese every day; suggests that one of the single most effective ways in which Government could improve public health is by a consistent message, across all agencies, that people who wish to avoid weight gain should consider low calorie options when choosing sweetened beverages; and observes that such an approach would be consistent with growing consumer preferences for diet drinks, require no legislation, and have no cost to the Exchequer.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Kevin Barron30/06/2010Rother ValleyLabourProposed
Mike Hancock30/06/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Keith Vaz30/06/2010Leicester EastLabourSeconded
John Leech30/06/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mary Glindon30/06/2010North TynesideLabourSeconded
Julie Hilling30/06/2010Bolton WestLabourSeconded
Alex Cunningham30/06/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Gwynne30/06/2010Denton and ReddishLabourSigned
Gordon Banks30/06/2010Ochil and South PerthshireLabourSigned
Mike Gapes30/06/2010Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn30/06/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders01/07/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale01/07/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Wayne David01/07/2010CaerphillyLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley01/07/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Andrew Stephenson01/07/2010PendleConservativeSigned
Jim Dobbin05/07/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Chris Evans05/07/2010IslwynLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd06/07/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Mark Durkan06/07/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Martin Caton06/07/2010GowerLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell07/07/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell07/07/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy07/07/2010GlenrothesLabourSigned
Ian Lavery07/07/2010WansbeckLabourSigned
Eric Illsley08/07/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Lady Hermon12/07/2010North DownIndependentSigned
Toby Perkins12/07/2010ChesterfieldLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds15/07/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Russell Brown14/10/2010Dumfries and GallowayLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi05/04/2011Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock26/04/2011Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
David Amess26/04/2011Southend WestConservativeSigned
Jenny Chapman26/04/2011DarlingtonLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin26/04/2011ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn27/04/2011JarrowLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.