Parliament Website

Local Government Fiscal Devolution And Freedom

EDM number 684 in 2013-14, proposed by Graham Allen on 06/11/2013.
Categorised under the topic of Local government.

That this House believes local government in England should become ever more independent from central control; welcomes the historic coming together of the Core Cities Group, the Mayor of London and London councils to campaign as City Centred for fiscal devolution and greater freedoms to England's great cities; notes that these cities are the engines of the UK's economy and have bold ambitions for growth that would bring benefits across the country calls for funding reform to better allow the cities to invest and grow; further notes their concern that 95 per cent of all tax raised in these cities currently is sent to the Treasury; understands that their proposals will be cost-neutral at the point of devolution and not impact on funding for other parts of the country; and calls on all parties that aspire to Government to take action to progress the proposals as part of their localism agenda.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Graham Allen06/11/2013Nottingham NorthLabourProposed
Annette Brooke06/11/2013Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Bob Blackman06/11/2013Harrow EastConservativeSeconded
Simon Hughes06/11/2013Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLiberal DemocratSeconded
Clive Betts06/11/2013Sheffield South EastLabourSeconded
Martin Vickers06/11/2013CleethorpesConservativeSeconded
Andrew George07/11/2013St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
George Howarth07/11/2013KnowsleyLabourSigned
Paul Flynn08/11/2013Newport WestLabourSigned
Frank Field08/11/2013BirkenheadLabourSigned
Gordon Henderson11/11/2013Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
John McDonnell11/11/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
John Leech12/11/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock12/11/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Rosindell12/11/2013RomfordConservativeSigned
John Hemming12/11/2013Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Swales12/11/2013RedcarLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton18/11/2013GowerLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham18/11/2013Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Mark Williams19/11/2013CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
David Ward20/11/2013Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Burstow20/11/2013Sutton and CheamLiberal DemocratSigned
Karl McCartney03/12/2013LincolnConservativeSigned
Glenda Jackson03/12/2013Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Martin Horwood04/12/2013CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Gisela Stuart04/12/2013Birmingham, EdgbastonLabourSigned
Andrew Love05/12/2013EdmontonLabourSigned
Gordon Birtwistle09/12/2013BurnleyLiberal DemocratSigned
David Blunkett09/12/2013Sheffield, Brightside and HillsboroughLabourSigned
Margaret Hodge09/12/2013BarkingLabourSigned
Graham Stringer10/12/2013Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
John Pugh12/12/2013SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Austin Mitchell16/12/2013Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Mike Weatherley16/12/2013HoveConservativeSigned
Hazel Blears17/12/2013Salford and EcclesLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas17/12/2013Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Roger Williams18/12/2013Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Jack Straw18/12/2013BlackburnLabourSigned
Pat Glass18/12/2013North West DurhamLabourSigned
Paul Goggins19/12/2013Wythenshawe and Sale EastLabourSigned
Mike Thornton19/12/2013EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Evans14/01/2014Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Julian Huppert03/02/2014CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
George Mudie05/02/2014Leeds EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.