Parliament Website

Animal Protection Policy

EDM number 97 in 2009-10, proposed by Mike Hancock on 18/11/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Animal welfare.

That this House notes the growing body of scientific evidence demonstrating that many animals have complex mental and emotional lives; considers many animals to be conscious, feeling beings with an interest in living, avoiding suffering and experiencing pleasure; acknowledges that each such animal has inherent value and is worthy of serious moral consideration; further considers respect for animals to be indicative of the level of civilisation; is concerned that policy-making tends to be dominated by industries that inevitably compromise animals' welfare and interests, and that the most essential interests of animals and the public's concern for their protection are given insufficient consideration; further notes that there is no Government body whose primary purpose is to protect the interests of animals in policy-making; and calls upon the Government to establish an animal protection commission or similar body, answerable to Parliament via a Minister, with a remit which includes the ongoing examination of the ethical status and rights of animals and how they are affected by policy-making, the facilitation of genuine public participation throughout policy processes which affect animals, and the development of a cross-government agenda for animal protection.

This motion has been signed by a total of 59 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

David Taylor18/11/2009North West LeicestershireLabourWithdrawn
Mike Hancock18/11/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratProposed
Jeremy Corbyn18/11/2009Islington NorthLabourSeconded
John McDonnell18/11/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Paul Flynn18/11/2009Newport WestLabourSeconded
David Drew18/11/2009StroudLabourSeconded
Andrew George19/11/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Bob Russell19/11/2009ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Adrian Sanders19/11/2009TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson19/11/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley19/11/2009Worthing WestConservativeSigned
John Austin23/11/2009Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
John Battle24/11/2009Leeds WestLabourSigned
Joan Humble25/11/2009Blackpool North and FleetwoodLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff25/11/2009Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
John Leech25/11/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Dai Davies25/11/2009Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Brian Jenkins26/11/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis26/11/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Martin Caton26/11/2009GowerLabourSigned
Bill Etherington30/11/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland30/11/2009Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Truswell01/12/2009PudseyLabourSigned
Willie Rennie02/12/2009Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Stewart03/12/2009EcclesLabourSigned
Norman Baker07/12/2009LewesLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Cawsey08/12/2009Brigg and GooleLabourSigned
Colin Challen09/12/2009Morley and RothwellLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling10/12/2009Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Angela Smith14/12/2009Sheffield, HillsboroughLabourSigned
Charles Kennedy15/12/2009Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/01/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Vincent Cable05/01/2010TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean05/01/2010BurtonLabourSigned
David Crausby06/01/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt06/01/2010Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Fabian Hamilton11/01/2010Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Bill Olner12/01/2010NuneatonLabourSigned
Colin Breed12/01/2010South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Salter13/01/2010Reading WestLabourSigned
David Heath21/01/2010Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSigned
Julia Goldsworthy26/01/2010Falmouth and CamborneLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Evans01/02/2010Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Paul Keetch02/02/2010HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
John Robertson02/02/2010Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Diane Abbott08/02/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley10/02/2010City of YorkLabourSigned
David Amess22/02/2010Southend WestConservativeSigned
Lady Hermon24/02/2010North DownUUPSigned
Harry Cohen24/02/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar01/03/2010Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Frank Doran10/03/2010Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Natascha Engel10/03/2010North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan11/03/2010Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Peter Robinson15/03/2010Belfast EastDUPSigned
Paul Holmes18/03/2010ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams24/03/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh25/03/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell06/04/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.