Parliament Website

Open University Support For Part-Time Students

EDM number 364 in 2010-12, proposed by Iain Stewart on 30/06/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Further education and Students.

That this House welcomes the Government's commitment to review the system of financial support for part-time students; further welcomes the contribution to the Higher Education Funding and Student Finance Review of The Open University, the United Kingdom's only university dedicated to distance learning, which is campaigning to obtain a fair settlement for part-time students; believes that part-time higher education is ideally placed to help the UK re-skill out of the recession through its ability to provide flexible, dynamic and innovative provision; further believes that The Open University has played a vital role in promoting social mobility and in widening participation through flexible part-time provision; further believes that all students, whether full-time of part-time, should be eligible either for fee grants or fee loans depending on income; and calls on the Government to create a single integrated system of institutional funding and student support in England that draws no distinction between modes of study.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

Iain Stewart30/06/2010Milton Keynes SouthConservativeProposed
Peter Bottomley30/06/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew George30/06/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mike Hancock01/07/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Katy Clark01/07/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Roger Williams01/07/2010Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSeconded
Hugh Bayley01/07/2010York CentralLabourSigned
Marsha Singh05/07/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin05/07/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn05/07/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Hywel Francis05/07/2010AberavonLabourSigned
Martin Caton06/07/2010GowerLabourSigned
Penny Mordaunt06/07/2010Portsmouth NorthConservativeSigned
Ian Swales06/07/2010RedcarLiberal DemocratSigned
Gavin Shuker06/07/2010Luton SouthLabourSigned
Kate Green06/07/2010Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Chris Williamson06/07/2010Derby NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Williams06/07/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Lorely Burt06/07/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan06/07/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Elfyn Llwyd06/07/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
David Mowat07/07/2010Warrington SouthConservativeSigned
Robin Walker07/07/2010WorcesterConservativeSigned
Caroline Lucas07/07/2010Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Ronnie Campbell07/07/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Heyes08/07/2010Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Andrew Miller08/07/2010Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Annette Brooke08/07/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Louise Ellman08/07/2010Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Luciana Berger08/07/2010Liverpool, WavertreeLabourSigned
Lady Hermon12/07/2010North DownIndependentSigned
Jim Cunningham12/07/2010Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Robert Flello12/07/2010Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
Mike Wood13/07/2010Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin13/07/2010ScunthorpeLabourSigned
John Leech13/07/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Cunningham13/07/2010WorkingtonLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff14/07/2010Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Stephen Twigg14/07/2010Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Michael Dugher14/07/2010Barnsley EastLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds15/07/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
David Amess15/07/2010Southend WestConservativeSigned
Tessa Munt27/07/2010WellsLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Cooper06/09/2010West LancashireLabourSigned
Angela Eagle09/09/2010WallaseyLabourSigned
Mark Williams15/09/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.